Media Impact and Books

By Caitlyn Nurnberg

Three books that have had influence on me are The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom (http://www.amazon.com/Five-People-You-Meet-Heaven/dp/1401308589), The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (http://www.amazon.com/The-Fault-Stars-John-Green/dp/0525478817), and Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (http://www.amazon.com/Thirteen-Reasons-Why-Jay-Asher/dp/159514188X/ref=pd_sim_b_5).

The Five People You Meet In Heaven was the first of the three that I read. Because I read it when I was younger I never really understood the gravity of the story, I just thought it was a good read. I re-read it when I was 16 and it really hit me. It’s a story about how little things that may be insignificant to you, could have made a large impact on someone else’s life, and vice versa. In years to come you might not even recall some of these ‘insignificant’ occurrences, but that doesn’t mean that they didn’t matter. This book showed me a whole new way to think about things and situations that I wouldn’t have before.

The second book that I read of the three is Thirteen Reasons Why.This book had a similar message to The Five People You Meet In Heavenalthough it is portrayed in a very different way. The book shows high schooler Clay who is sent a box of tapes made by his classmate Hannah who had committed suicide a few weeks prior. The tapes show the thirteen reasons (or thirteen people) that led to her decision to commit suicide. All of the reasons are little inconsequential things to the people who did them, but to Hannah it was something much bigger. This book once again showed me that the little things you do to both strangers and people you know could have a bigger impact than you expected it to.

Lastly is The Fault In Our Stars,which I read only a couple months ago.  This book has quickly become one of my favorite books to read, and I have read it multiple times. It chronicles the romance of two teenagers who meet in a cancer support group, and it shows love, loss, and ultimately how to cope. This book shows that you have to live life to the fullest, even if you know you only have a certain amount of days left. The beginning of the book is light and heartfelt, and even though it ends in tragedy you still have those chapters leading to the end where the characters lived and loved like nothing was wrong.

Leave a Reply

