Books

– Shreya Zalani

I have always been an avid reader and I love to write. Books are a big part of my life. The three books that have had a major impact on me are Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling and Angels and Demons by Dan Brown.

Pride and Prejudice helped me appreciate the beauty of language and how it is influential in expressing feelings. Jane Austen’s writing showed how tensions and misunderstandings are created between people just by what they choose to say to each other. I also learnt that like a book shouldn’t be judged by its cover, people should not be categorized based on first impressions.

The Harry Potter series showcases the importance of friendship and family. It made me see that giving up without trying in the face of any problem is taking the easy way out. Additionally, it also gave an insight into British culture and the language that is typically used.

Angels and Demons is a book that made me realize that everything is not as it seems. Whether it is people or building and other inanimate objects, there is often a hidden side. I also enjoyed reading about the mysteries based on real locations that were depicted in this book.

Amazon Links:

Pride and Prejudice – http://www.amazon.com/Pride-Prejudice-Dover-Thrift-Editions/dp/0486284735

The Harry Potter Series – http://www.amazon.com/Harry-Potter-Paperback-Box-Books/dp/0545162076

Angels and Demons – http://www.amazon.com/Angels-Demons-Robert-Langdon-Brown/dp/1416524797

Leave a comment