Propoganda in Advertising Brian F. Rose

This one caused me a bit of a problem. When I look for an ad I think of magazines and television. On the internet I am looking for information and ignore the ads. When I went looking for advertisement yesterday I discovered the De Anza College computers filters are remarkably good. They certainly filtered ads out of my old standbys the Los Angeles Times and the San Jose Mercury.

I looked under automobile advertisements on internet and choose Relay Rides. Relay Rides is a peer-to-peer company that matches car owners with a car renter. It is located in several cities in the U.S.

Two techniques I found were the testimonial and repetition. There are three testimonials at the bottom of the website explaining why they choose Relay Rides and how it helps to cover the expense of their car.

The ad does not use scare techniques to persuaded one to sign up. Repetition/simplification are used to show how easy it is to use on the various webpages. At the top and bottom of the page is a button inviting one to list their car.

I am not in favor of peer-to -peer rentals. When you cut out the middle man you are removing people who work full time in car rental business. As opposed to some one doing it part time. To use a slogan and propaganda technique, the car rental clerk you put out of a job could be your mother.

Leave a Reply

