week 11: Class Highlights

By: Brenda Romero

Before Jour 2 I had little knowledge of the media around us and how much it influences us. I guess ,I can say that I have more of a knowledge of my media literacy. I could always decipher what I was watching accurately , but now I actually know that the act of deciphering what’s in the media is called media literacy. Something else that I have taken from this class is not trusting all of the news outlets. I have more of an understanding of which TV stations are biased and how to analyze them. For example, I am one of those people who don’t really watch the news and when I do I just turn on Fox news. Even though I have always known that Fox news is biased to the conservative view, I now take their criticism with a skeptical eye. I have also learned how important it is for a journalist to know and follow the First Amendment rights. Over all, I have learned to be more aware that somethings are more opinion bases then facts. I should always fact check everything.

Leave a Reply

