Media Autobiography

By Stephanie Andrada

When I first started kindergarten we use to always read books and there would be story time. I quite liked the feeling of a book in my hand, turning the page and seeing the pictures as I read along. As I grew up books started to fade and now children and students have the option of getting it online, which I think is efficient in its own way. Being a college student not having to lug around a five pound text book to class is pretty convenient.

I use to be one of those people who liked to read the newspaper, when I joined the army and went overseas to Iraq I didn’t have the option to pull out my phone and see the stats of a game or read about what was going on in America. So I developed a relationship with the newspaper that was afforded to us down range. It was difficult to not be able to have a phone in your hands to check the news, but eventually I got use to it. I can say the same thing for magazines, in school there would be small little art projects that we did with magazines. We would cut out words and pictures to describe a prompt that was written on the board, but now a days we don’t have projects like that anymore. I liked expressing my thoughts through pictures rather than words sometimes. I felt that I could say more with pictures than words.

When I watched movies it was a way for me to understand the world from a different perspective, whether it was dramatized or completely accurate depicted in documentaries and other genres. What I like about movies is the expression of how something happened in history and how it was depicted in that movie, but there are other times that I didn’t like movies for that simple reason.

I haven’t had much encounter with recordings such as pod-casts. The only recordings that come to mind are ones where my teacher would put in a tape and a man or woman would be reading us a story. I guess I didn’t really like that because I wasn’t able to follow along with the words right in front of me.

I use the radio constantly. As a kid I would go to sleep with the radio on and wake up with it. I listen to music as much as I possibly can. When I was younger I had to buy a boom box to be able to listen to it, and I always hated listening to the commercials, so every time one came on I would change the channel, now I don’t have to do that. All I have to do is grab my phone turn on my music app that I pay monthly for, at a very miniscule rate and boom there are no more commercials.

As far as television goes, when I was a kid we didn’t have a television for the longest time, so me and my brothers would have to find other ways to entertain ourselves, but once we got our first television we could only watch one hour of it and then off it went. As I grew up my mom got more lenient about TV time and I watched it all the time, now at the age of 24 I don’t even turn on the TV at home I just lay in bed and watch Netflix all day.

It use to be that people said “don’t believe everything that you see on TV.” Now people are saying “don’t believe everything you read on the internet.” It’s funny how things change. I use the internet as a source for school so if I were to read something that I researched I would have to go deeper into that topic and really figure out for myself what is true and what is false.

Some of the most important media outlets to me out of the eight are the internet, radio and television, only because those are the things that I use the most in my daily life. Beginning from when I was a kid growing up until now.

