Week I : Media Autobiography

I’m a member of a generation born into technology. Mass media is as pervasive these days as the automobile, but with that power comes great responsibility. When I was a kid, my go-to was a book. It was a newspaper, a VHS tape, the occasional show on the telly. Even at that age, I realized that most of what I saw was fiction. I realized that some information may or may not be fabricated, that the truth lies deeper within. What I didn’t see coming was its impact on who I am today. When I was a kid, I indulged in quite a bit of media. Some children idolized Batman, some prefer Superman, my hero ended up being James Bond. He was elusive, ever-so-stylish, a ladies man with the lethality of a serpent. I quickly fell in love with the entire motif, blind to the fact that it was only a movie based on a book based on, well, nothing. There was no real James Bond, but media made a living, breathing person out of an idea. Media made a hero out of an ordinary man, and that is only an example of the power media holds. Media can transform an election, media can slander and media can bolster, media can keep us connected or it can tear us apart. Media is an idea, an unlimited canvas in which the mind may wander. Movies can change your opinions, television can form your identity, the newspaper can make you fearful and the Internet can grant you omniscience. It’s a powerful suite of tools that can bring people together or tear them apart. It can make us laugh or make us cry. The power is absolutely unlimited, and is arguably both the most destructive weapon of our time and our salvation as a species. Thanks media, for everything you’ve done.

