#2 Books

By Karissa Louie

These three books have had the most influence on me because after reading them they really made me sit down and think about how fortunate I am to be growing up in American and have opportunities that others did not have.

  1. To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

This is a very powerful book that highlighted the idea of racial injustice and unfairness from a child’s point of view.  I grew up with the Scout and experienced her carefree childhood filled with mischief and learned with her when she realized her impressions of her neighbor was wrong.  It was interesting when I was able to understand grown-up concepts her father discusses and Scout does not comprehend.  And later on being able to identify the point at which Scout grows up and realizes that reality is far from fair and people in her society at her time, were not able to break out of their stereotypes.  I am grateful today that segregation and racial injustice has been overturned.  This book reminds me though, that society still has stereotypes and we need to continue fighting until we achieve equality for all.

http://www.amazon.com/To-Kill-Mockingbird-Harper-Lee/dp/0446310786

  1. The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

My heart broke after reading the stories of these mothers and the tragedies they suffered in China.  The mothers in this book suffered hardships from the old way of life, such as arranged marriage and poverty.  The daughters on the other hand suffer in a different way; they are embarrassed with their heritage and try to come to terms with their mothers’ high expectations.    This book made me realize the importance of family and realize that I have had opportunities I would not have had if I grew up in another country.

http://www.amazon.com/Joy-Luck-Club-Amy-Tan/dp/0143038095/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421539033&sr=1-1&keywords=the+joy+luck+club+by+amy+tan

  1. White Fang by Jack London

This was an eye-widening book, from beginning to end.  Following White Fang from the time he was born to his interactions with humans to the abuse he endured, I admire his strength and courage through the abuse he faced.   Even though this was a fictional story, White Fang’s journey throughout his life is relatable because he had to have the strength to go through so many cruel people and still had the spirit to fight for himself.

http://www.amazon.com/White-Fang-Jack-London/dp/1505313104/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421541622&sr=1-2&keywords=white+fang

