Blog #2

By Stephanie Andrada

Some of the most influential books that I have read in my life time are The Outsiders, The Secret and my favorite book The Giving Tree. Now, I know what you’re thinking! Why these books? All of these books are for kids. Well let me tell you why!

The first book on my list is The Outsiders. When I read this book I was in the 7th grade. The whole class had to read it for out first writing assignment. I remember only reading the first chapter and I was immediately hooked! I couldn’t put the book down and I read ahead of the class. It has stuck with me this whole time, because it was about a group of kids who didn’t belong and didn’t live up to the status quo of things back then. It taught me to be myself and to stand up for myself, to never let anyone make me feel bad about the person that I am.

When I read The Secret, I was in the military and I had heard about a book that everyone was talking about so I went to the PX and I bought it. The reason that I liked this book was because it was like a self motivating book. It talked about how if you want good things to happen to you, you not only have to work hard for them, but to also think positively about what you want. There was a lot in the about having a positive mind and going after what you really want.

The last book I would like to talk about is The Giving Tree. This book is my favorite because it made me feel good. I always had a smile on my face when the teacher brought it out to read to us, and when we had free time I would go straight to that book even though I had already heard the story just yesterday. This book made me feel good because the tree had a friend to talk to and vice verse. So it made me think that anyone could be friends.

http://www.amazon.com/Giving-Tree-Childrens-Book-Hardcover/dp/B0042SWVLC/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421534516&sr=1-1&keywords=the+giving+tree

http://www.amazon.com/The-Outsiders-Complete-Novel/dp/0790768399/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421534556&sr=1-4&keywords=the+outsiders

http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Rhonda-Byrne-ebook/dp/B002M5E2DW/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421534589&sr=1-1&keywords=the+secret

