Books

By Jorian Lewke

Out of all the books I’ve ever read, The Things They Carried, Crime and Punishment, and The Fault in Our Stars remain my favorite. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien is masterfully written, and takes the readers as deep into the Vietnam war as literature possibly can. While it is clear that it is an anti-war book, it is more so a book reevaluating the definition of truth, and how a fictional story that makes you feel the same as what actually happened is more true than sticking with the facts. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky is the most well written book I’ve ever read. While incredibly dense and difficult to get through, the way that he conveys his messages are complex, yet genius. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is also written incredibly well, and the wit and humor that come through this heart breaking story make you feel as though you’re going through it all with the characters. It is a profoundly human book that explores every facet of emotion we have.

About JRLewke

To me, photographer is a strong word. I guess you could call me a picture taker, moment capturer or whatever else, but not photographer. I'm a high school student that has a passion for helping others and my community. I'm on a search for self preservation in this messed up amazing world, a search for everything that is to be found. I'm a writer, a pseudo therapist, advocate, volunteer, activist, student, daughter, and friend. This started out as a 365 day project, and that lasted throughout summer. When I started school again, it became much more difficult to get one everyday. I post when I can and will probably begin doing one everyday again in summer. Peace!
