good kid, m.A.A.d city

By Haris Pozega

I’ve been listening to hiphop since I was about 11 years old, my mom and dad hated hiphop so they wouldn’t introduce me to the hiphop music. Kendrick Lamar released good kid, m.A.A.d city in 2012 and it’s still my favorite album. I like the album most because you can see a clear story through the whole album and you follow Kendrick as he tries to break free from Compton where he grew up. The album is refreshing, not like the new hiphop music that’s all about girls, drugs and parties. It’s real, you can really picture his life in Compton. It gives people in Compton and similar areas hope, if he could make it, they can too. First time I heard this album was on Spotify but I also bought the hard copy. 

My favorite oldie is Return Of The Mack by Mark Morrison. I usually don’t like this kind of music but my dad loves to play this song when we travel once a year to Bosnia from Sweden. It’s a long trip, about 27 hours and we drive right through Europe so this song is on repeat several times. It reminds me of summer and whats not to like about summer? The format was a CD. 

