My Favorite Films

By Stephanie Lopez

My favorite movie of 2012 was Moonrise Kingdom directed by Wes Anderson. It struck a chord on my first viewing due to its almost dreamlike atmosphere and the innocence that the two main characters represented. Their love is one of the best love stories put on to film in my opinion. It’s pure and naive, two traits that make me sentimental for things I haven’t even experienced. The film makes me feel nostalgic and keeps me yearning for the type of affection the two main characters have for each other. The acting was flawless and Anderson’s art direction is pristine, especially in this film.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1748122/

trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7N8wkVA4_8s

My favorite movie of all-time is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind directed by French filmmaker, Michel Gondry. I’ve watched Eternal Sunshine an innumerable amount of times, usually when my heart is aching or I’m feeling some other saccharine emotion. The blatant imperfections of the two protagonists are so relatable, pulling at the heart strings of the audience more than most other movies do. The science fiction aspect of the film gives it a refreshing twist. By the end of the movie, you may find yourself reflecting on the quote, “‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” by Alfred Lord Tennyson.

www.imdb.com/title/tt0338013/

trailer: www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GiLxkDK8sI

