Week 1: Media Autobiography by Tony Phan

I am a third year college student at De Anza. My major is finance, though it does not relate to media very much, I would one day like to work for a startup in the social media world. By this time next year, hopefully I will be at San Jose State University. In this post, I will talk about the eight mediums of mass media and my level of exposure to them throughout my life.

Books: Books will always have a special place in my heart. From when I learned how to read to early high school, they were a major source of entertainment and knowledge for me. As life became more busy, I’ve stopped reading as much. Whenever I have free time however, I still like to lay in bed and read. The thing I like about books is that after you’re done reading them, they make a great room decoration while making you look smart. What I dislike is when you’re reading them in bed and it suddenly drops on your face.

Newspapers: I was never a big newspaper person, mainly because I got the news from TV. Whenever I looked at the newspapers, it was usually for the front page story. What I like about them is that they’re portable and cheap, what I don’t like is that it turns your finger black.

Magazines: I don’t actively go out of my way to look at magazines, my experiences to magazines is limited to waiting rooms in the doctors office and such. Whenever I am in a waiting room and there are magazines, I try to read whatever is there instead of playing on my phone. And sometimes when I need a break from doing homework at Barnes and Nobles, I’ll grab a magazine and read it. What I like about magazines is that there is one for every niche out there, what I don’t like is that there seems to be less and less content and more pictures.

Movies: Movies used to be a pretty big part of my life. When I was younger, hanging out at the mall was a cool thing, so my friends and I would watch movies every Friday pretty much. Nowadays I save it for movies I really want to see, mostly I just watch Netflix now. What I like about movies is that its an escape from reality for a couple hours, what I don’t like is the skyrocketing ticket prices.

Recordings: As far as I remember, I do not have any experiences with recordings. I’ve never needed them in the past and I don’t think ill be using them in the future with the way technology is going.

Radio: Radio went from not being important, to somewhat important for me. When I was younger I never used a radio, mainly because I did not have a car, and I would rather watch cartoons than listening to the radio. Nowadays, I find myself listening to the radio in my car more and more. I like listening to talk shows in the mornings because it helps me stay awake, and I discover new music through the radio. What I like about the radio is that they have good content on there, but the commercials are really annoying.

TV: TV used to be a big part of my life. Binge watching shows for 5-6 hours used to be nothing for me. Back when I was a kid, i was bored a lot and TV was an escape for me. As i grew older, the internet became more important, and I had more responsibilities and obligations, so TV became something I would watch for maybe 30 minutes a day, if that. What I like about TV is that a mindless form of entertainment, which is good in some situations. What I don’t like is that the quality of the shows of progressively gotten worse.

Internet: In one way or another, the internet has always been important to me. Nowadays even more so because it is so easily accessible through our mobile devices. I would say that I’m on the internet, through whatever medium, 9-10 hours a day. And most of it is probably social media. What I like about the internet is that you have the culmination of all knowledge in the palms of your hand. There is nothing I really dislike about the internet, maybe that it should be free at this point?

Leave a Reply

