Books or or Magazines – Blog 3

Week 3 | Books or Magazines – Blog 3
Talia Hudgens

As a child of the 90s I read, “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day”  and “Chrysanthemum;” both which have now become motion pictures. “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day,” is simply written about a boy who wakes up and has a terrible day that if I recall correctly, never gets better but to me that was why it held influence; all the other books I have read at that age have lied to me about how realistic life truly is. To this day, I think about this book and realize how hard we,  humans, make things for ourselves and that life’s outcomes truly depict what we think.

“Chrysanthemum” was another book that affected my way of thinking. Chrysanthemum, of course, is the name of  a flower but it was also the name of a cute, little mouse who would always be made fun of because of it. One day, she took a class and her teacher had the name of a flower as well so they bonded and Chrysanthemum no longer felt insecure. You know how, after you’re done reading a book, your mind automatically gives a review of it? Well, if I can remember correctly, my last thoughts were, “It’s okay to be different,” as I was holding the book in my hand staring at the cover. No one really judged me for being different because they never knew that I was, I was just afraid to show it. Today, the book’s meaning resonates with me and let’s me know, that self-acceptance, and in some cases, pride,  is the best way to go.

The last book in my list that taught me to embrace myself was a book written by Youtuber, Issa Rae who creates mini, web-series’, her most popular one, “The Misadventures of an Awkward  Black Girl,” gained so much popularity, she decided to write a book about it, only depicting her life instead of the character she had created. The web-series gracefully collides two words that aren’t commonly connected to each other: awkward and black. (Which also happens to be the selling pitch of the series.) It was the first book I read that made me laugh-out-loud. After the book was over my final thoughts were, “She (Issa) is nothing like me,” but I can definitely relate to the character that she has embodied and developed.

Links to the books:

The Misadventures of an Awkward Black Girlhttp://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-misadventures-of-awkward-black-girl-issa-rae/1118965233

Chysanthemumhttp://www.amazon.com/Chrysanthemum-Kevin-Henkes/dp/0688147321

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Dayhttp://www.amazon.com/Chrysanthemum-Kevin-Henkes/dp/0688147321

Leave a Reply

