Paperbacks with Influence.

Week 3:  Books

Paperbacks with Influence

By:  Michelle Miramon

 

The Coldest Winter Ever –Sister Souljah

http://www.amazon.com/Coldest-Winter-Ever-Sister-Souljah/dp/1416521690/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453534034&sr=8-1&keywords=the+coldest+winter+ever

I actually read this book in high school and as I recall, I finished this 544 page book within a couple of days.  For the first time, I could not put the book down.  My mind was not developed enough to relate to the drama that the main character, Winter, went through at such a young age, but I remember feeling so much pain for her after finishing the book.  I recall getting my first taste of the real world and thinking that some people have it so much worst.

 

Memoirs of a Geisha:  A Novel  –Arthur Golden

http://www.amazon.com/Memoirs-Geisha-Vintage-Contemporaries-Arthur-ebook/dp/B000FCKMEM/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1453535535&sr=1-1&keywords=memoirs+of+a+geisha

I read this book within a few days as well, it was yet another book that I couldn’t stop reading.  This book goes in detail of the struggle for women in the asian culture.  It made me appreciate having the opportunity to be raised in the U.S.  Memoirs of a Geisha shows the reader the in’s and out’s of the sex industry outside of the U.S.  It doesn’t sugar coat any scene nor situation, which I believe is reality.

 

The Da Vinci Code –Robert Langdon

http://www.amazon.com/Da-Vinci-Code-Robert-Langdon-ebook/dp/B000FA675C/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1453535606&sr=1-1&keywords=the+davinci+code

I really enjoyed the suspense in this book because the facts given in book were tangible.  The book makes you open up your eyes to your every day use of items.  It makes you look at these every day items very differently.  I highly recommend this book to anyone with an imagination.

 

 

Leave a Reply

