Three Books

Week 3: Books

Three Books

By Andrew Masek

I can’t tell if it is because I haven’t read a lot of books, or if I just have a horrible memory, but there aren’t that many books that I recall ever reading cover to cover. The three books that have left the longest lasting impression on me are as follows: The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, and Sula by Toni Morrison. The Catcher in the Rye left an impression on me for a couple reasons. For one, whenever I think about a book I have read, this one comes to mind because of how much complaining there is in the novel. But one thing I really liked about this novel is that despite everything that the main character does, he is always still just trying to preserve the innocence of Phoebe, and to look out for her even though he isn’t always around. And the last thing that comes to mind when I think about this novel, is how the main character was the equipment manager for the fencing team, but he lost the fencing equipment on the subway when they were going for a match. I just thought it was a comical moment and that’s probably why I remember it. The next book, The Kite Runner, I read in my junior year of high school and I’m not entirely sure what about it made me love it. There is not one set thing, but a huge part of it is how it was written. The main character was not like a lot of character whose heads I’ve been inside before. The book had some major twists that I really enjoyed and only one of them I saw coming. Lastly the book that I have most recently read is Sula. The reason why I remember this book is because of all of the characters. The characters of this novel are all just so different from each other and behave so oddly for the time that they are in, and at times it is very irrational and irritating. The thing I remember most about this novel is that a character is very dead set on creating a national holiday known as “National Suicide Day”. I remember reading it over a couple times to see if I read it correctly. I do not think that I will soon forget any of these books.

The Catcher in the Rye: http://www.amazon.com/Catcher-Rye-J-D-Salinger/dp/0316769487/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453567580&sr=8-1&keywords=the+catcher+in+the+rye

The Kite Runner: http://www.amazon.com/Kite-Runner-Khaled-Hosseini/dp/159463193X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453567655&sr=8-1&keywords=the+kite+runner

Sula: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_1_4?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=sula+by+toni+morrison&sprefix=Sula%2Caps%2C202&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Asula+by+toni+morrison

Leave a Reply

