Week 3: Books

Sara Raheem

Although I am considered to be a part of the technology savvy, rampaging, outspoken youth, growing up my only form of entertainment were books. Throughout the years I’ve fallen inlove with several books, but the three most impactful books that have stretched and broadened my perspective were, “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood, “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho and “Dandelion Wine” by Ray Bradbury.  In The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood focuses on a totalitarian government evaluating woman’s worth solely based off whether they are capable to reproduce. The book plunges into a world where life as a woman or man is restricted, placing guidelines on each citizen. Like many first generation Americans, my parents left their country in search of better opportunities and higher quality of life. I was privileged enough to be brought up in a stable environment that exercised no type of patriarchy, but unlike me my extended family was not so blessed. On a trip to Pakistan when I was fourteen, I witnessed many of the rules and regulations placed on women that were written about in Margaret Atwood’s book. It changed my life because although the book identifies as “Science Fiction,” it showed how prevalent the issues in the book are. “The Alchemist,” by Paulo Coelho helped me understand that living in the moment is incredibly important. People are easily susceptible to worrying about the future, or worrying about the past. Personally, I had a lot of trouble with the concept of living each day at a time. I found myself worrying over things that may not happen, and pestering on what things I could have done better. The book helped with my mental journey. Another book that helped with my “mental” journey was “Dandelion Wine” by Ray Bradbury because of how the characters handle normal social issues.

Leave a Reply

