Week 3: books or magazines

Week 3: Books/ Maddy Kelly

In high school I read a book called The Help by Kathryn Stockett, that stuck with me forever. The story takes place in the 1960’s in Jackson, Mississippi. It is about African-American maids and the hardships they had to overcome during this time. It is a great story that touches all genres such as comedy, romance, and drama with many accurate historic details. Another book that stuck with me was the book Bittersweet by Shauna Niequist. This book is about a Christian woman’s journey throughout life and what she had to overcome in order to live the life she wanted. This is one of my favorite books because it taught me so many life lessons. It had humorous moments but also intense real life moments that I could relate to being only 20 years old. I like to read about people’s life experiences because it gives me a lot of great advice. The third book that I really enjoyed reading was The Hunger Games. This book stretches the mind and makes you think about what else could be out in the world. Although it is completely based on the imagination it makes you really think about a different way of life. Overall, I love reading and I enjoy reading all different kinds of books that opens my mind to many different things in this world, whether it’s real life stories or made up mythical things.

Leave a Reply

