Week 3: Books or Magazines

By Arbella Yousif

I don’t usually read too often, but when I do I must really enjoy it, three books that I have read that had the most influence on me were different but all taught me and influenced me. The first book was Into the wild by Jon Krakauer. I love this book the most because it made me appreciate whats important and that life isn’t about materialistic things there is so much more out there and so much more to see. We live in a world filled with people who focus on the exterior rather than the interior, and life is being taken for granted everyday and this book opened my eyes for that. The Second book was Catcher In The Rye by J.D Salinger. I just loved the darkness of it and how much it had on the way society defined itself and the influence it had on counterculture in the 1960s, it really changed my perspective on how good life is and what it’s really about and what’s really going on. Th last book was The Great Gatsby, everyone knows this book, and really this book influenced me in many ways, that money really can’t buy you happiness and today’s reality all we strive to do is to make lots of money and we forget about the real significance of life, it’s unfortunate but true. This book really showed me that you never know what’s going to happen tomorrow and to expect the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

