Newspaper or Audio? – Blog 4

Week 4 – Newspaper or Audio

Racial Publicizing

By Talia Hudgens

I have a natural ability to pair my emotions with music so through the use of electronic music software like GarageBand where I have produced several songs. One song that I made (which is untitled for now) reminds me of the music from the Target commercials with it’s chic, pop vibe which I think is subconsciously where I drew my inspiration from. My favorite oldie is from the late Etta James, Something’s Got a Hold on Me. Even though the song was made in 1963, the lyrics and tone of the song sounds very modern and hasn’t aged. Many electronic DJs sample her vocals from that song and insert it to be the vocals for their beats. The song that I made was first heard through GarageBand since that was the software I decided to use for the song. Something’s Got a Hold on Me was first heard over the radio. You can hear Something’s Got a Hold on Me Here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFmHOCUKTfM and my song here: https://soundcloud.com/taliashmalia/my-song-4.

Leave a Reply

