Week 3: Books or Magazines

The Three Most Influential Books

By Paula Jung

Though I would not consider myself an avid reader, there are a few books that I have read that have stuck out to me even after having finished reading them. Three books include The Hunger Games, The Glass Castle, and the Catcher in the Rye.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Though the book series have been around for several years already, I had read the first Hunger Games book for my first writing class in college. Although the book was chosen for the English course as an intentional easy read so that the student could focus on learning how to write properly rather than studying the book material, I found the Hunger games to be an enjoyable and quick read—and it stayed with me even after the class because I felt like the entertaining aspect of the novel actually helped me to revive my interest on academic writing and also, reading for pleasure.

The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls. This book was also required reading for another English and writing course I took at De Anza. I found the book to be interesting, engaging, and unique in its story. The true stories of a prominent New York journalist who secretly is hiding a troubled past intrigued me and I found myself eager to continue reading the novel. This book also stayed with my afterwards in that it helped me to again, like the Hunger Games, revive my interest in academia, the art of writing, and also the art of movie-making, as we discussed how The Glass Castle would be turned into a movie in the future.

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger: Catcher in the Rye is a well-known coming of age novel and was one of the few books I actually read in high school. It was a novel I was actually quite excited to read, hearing so many things about the book but not having the chance to read it myself. I enjoyed the main character, Holden Caulfield, and his tragic attitude on life. I particularly liked Catcher in the Rye because it personally made me feel like I received the “high school English class” experience of reading classic novels that are well-known, notable, and relatable.

 

Links on amazon.com:

The Hunger Games: http://www.amazon.com/Hunger-Games-Book-1/dp/0439023521/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1453812909&sr=8-2&keywords=the+hunger+games

The Glass Castle: http://www.amazon.com/Glass-Castle-Memoir-Jeannette-Walls/dp/074324754X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453812935&sr=8-1&keywords=the+glass+castle

Catcher in the Rye: http://www.amazon.com/Catcher-Rye-1991-White/dp/B00FAMBBQU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1453812953&sr=8-3&keywords=catcher+in+the+rye

 

About pjjng

my thoughts and ramblings

Leave a Reply

