Week 5: Movie or Television

By: Tony Phan

I do not watch a lot of movies in general, but my favorite movie of 2014-2015 would have to be Straight Outta Compton. What I liked about it was the fact that it was based on the lives of real people, and the issues it dealt with are issues that are still relevant with us today, such as police brutality. Also, it is a movie about a rap group, which is one of my favorite genres. My all time favorite movie would have to be The Last Samurai. As mentioned, I do not watch a lot of movies but when then comes on I can still watch it over and over and not get tired of it. I love the fact that it did a great job of showcasing Japanese culture in a way that is not tacky. I have always found Japanese culture interesting and samurai culture especially. I also have a thing for military movies based on “last stands” such as Leonidas and the Spartans in 300. 

Straight Outta Compton IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1398426/

The Last Samurai IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0325710/?ref_=nv_sr_6

The Last Samurai trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T50_qHEOahQ

 

Leave a Reply

