Media Autobiography (JOUR 2)

Week 1 Media Autobiography

Growing up with mass media

By Thomas Lin

My Relationships with the Mass Media

I was originally from Taiwan and I moved to the U.S. in the year 2000, and I grew up with the television and the Internet. When I was moving to the U.S. in the year 2000, I was a 3rd grader studying at a elementary school in Pingtung City, Taiwan and one of the classes that was part of the elementary school I was studying at was a computer class where the teacher taught the students how to use the Internet, but at home I haven’t got to using the  Internet because I only use the computer (Windows 98) to play video games with my younger brother and one of my cousins (from my mom’s side). As for other mass media like books, radio, magazines, newspaper, recordings, and movies i didn’t get into those while growing up in Taiwan before I moved to the U.S. in the year 2000. However, one of the important mass media to me is the television because i started and got into watching Japanese anime  and that’s the only reason I liked about the mass media television. Later on, when I moved to the U.S. with my parents and younger brother I got into books and movie and the book series I became a fan of was the Harry Potter series and whenever I finish the current book that was out I would go watch the movie version of it. Later on, for a while i started reading the TIME magazine, got into listening to the radio but only when I’m in the car either with my parents or my younger brother and I would listen to Mandarin programs and different songs from the radio. As for the newspaper, I would read it if I happen to saw on if I happen to see one and, during the night I would watch an hour of television for the news about the local U.S.,news around the world, and news about Taiwan; after I finished watching the news I would be back on the PC surfing on the Internet, checking out Facebook, watching streamed videos, listening to my favorite music on Youtube, and read about different kinds of news on different websites, which makes it my most used mass media because it’s convenience; however, i don’t like the lags, and having to watch ads.

Leave a Reply

