Week 2- Media Impacts

The Impact of Objectification

By Hope Weston

The very first thing that came to my mind when asked to find an example of the media being blamed for real-life problems, was the issue of body image and self-esteem. As a woman, these issues are personal to myself, my family and my community. Although the prompt asked for a situation that “blamed” media – I do believe that the media is at least partially at fault for the epidemic of low-self esteem and eating disorders in women.

Everywhere I look I seem to be bombarded with skinny, flawlessly beautiful women. They have better clothes, hair, makeup, cars, homes and “lives” that I could imagine having. When I was younger, 11 or 12 years old, it was hard to understand that these women were for the purpose of advertising. Instead, like many pre-teens, I went home and looked at myself in the mirror and compared myself to these women.

Television ads and the characters on TV. Movies and celebrities. News anchors, billboards, magazines – the list goes on and on! All of these media outlets promote, at best, unrealistic standards of beauty – and at it’s worst? Total objectification and even violence towards women. It’s very concerning to see and hear the evidence regarding the issue, and to have felt it myself and seen it affect those around me only makes it more relevant. I encourage everyone to look at the media you are consuming and begin to recognize the dangers of this objectification.

For more information, please see https://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/media-body-image-and-eating-disorders

And watch the documentary “Miss Representation” http://therepresentationproject.org/film/miss-representation/
Trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2UZZV3xU6Q

Leave a Reply

