Week 3 – Books

Three Books that Changed Everything

By Hope Weston

There have been many  books in my life time that I consider influential in my life, in fact I found picking 3 to be harder than I thought it would be!

First I thought of Pride and Prejudice, one of my favorite “classics” and the way it brought the struggles of women to light. The idea of being bought and sold, how to marry for love and be true yourself and your heart all spoke to me. I have read it many times but the first time I remember it truly opening my eyes to the things women have dealt with for centuries and are just starting to overcome.

Next, and I know this is more than one book, the Harry Potter series had a huge impact on me in my childhood and through today! Friendship, loyalty, doing what is right (even if it isn’t easy), the battle between good and evil; each is something prevalent in every day life and in our society, very important. To stick up for what you believe in, even when it’s difficult. It’s very noble, just like the characters.

And lastly, the most recent book I’ve read, called “Love Warrior” by Glennon Doyle Melton. It’s a memoir of Melton’s struggles with bulimia and alcoholism, her growth into a mother and wife, and eventually, her journey to become herself. It was so heart-wrenching and promoted such a strong feeling of self-love and togetherness. How to be a friend when the hard times come, how to be a friend to ourselves even more in those times! I recommend this book to everyone, but there are some “trigger” scenes for those with addictions or mental illness.

The link to Love Warrior: https://www.amazon.com/Love-Warrior-Oprahs-Book-Club/dp/1250128544

The others are classics or very popular so I assume most have read them! If not you can find them at the local library!

Leave a Reply

