WEEK: 4 Audio

New and Old

By: Humberto Aleman

As a disc jockey Im always looking for the next best song to turn play at a club or house party. This year there was a song in particular that that stuck to me by a producer by the name of DJ 4B and the song name is “POP DAT”. The first reason I like the song is because of the reaction I get from the crowd every time it is played. The second reason I like the song is because of the way the producer blends the the styles of electronic music and hip-hop. The first time I heard ‘POP DAT’ by DJ 4B was through an MP3 at my friends house while he was playing it using a software known as, Serato.

When it comes to oldies my favorite song is by an artist named Ben E. King and the song he made in 1961 called, “Stand by Me”. The main reason I like the song is because it reminds me of the times I used to spend with my grandmother at her old salon in downtown San Jose. She used to play songs from a CD that were all around the times of the 1950’s and 1960’s. The very first time I heard Stand by Me was on a CD, I listened to it on a CD player that was set up in my grandmothers salon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

