Week 5: Movie–Blog 5

Sharing Favorites

By Celeste DiLullo

My favorite movie of 2015-16 would have to be “Sully” by Clint Eastwood. One of the aspects that makes this movie my favorite is how it not only demonstrates the struggles of surviving a crash, but also creates subtle and real references to PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder). The field of aviation has always been a fascination of mine, and I do suffer with a mild case of PTSD, so the film had me invested from the beginning and appealed to me emotionally as well.

My favorite all-time movie, however, is “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” by Ben Stiller (2013). Besides being a great modern interpretation of the original short story by James Thurber, the movie appeals to daydreamers/dreamers and the possibilities of what could be a better life if we choose to act, rather than watching on the sidelines.

I saw both “Sully” and “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” at the movie theater. I saw “Sully” a week after the movie released, while I saw “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” two days after its theatrical release.

Links for “Sully”: Trailer of “Sully”Rotten Tomatoes of “Sully”

Links for “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”: Rotten TomatoesTrailer

Tags:

Leave a Reply

