Week 11–Blog 10

Memorable Moments

By Celeste DiLullo

Aha! Moments

  1. Mean World Syndrome. After I read the book “Filter Bubble” by Eli Pariser and “The Culture of Fear” by Barry Glassner, I knew how the media was catering to us and using fear to control what we saw in the media. But after reading the definition of Mean World Syndrome and becoming aware of it, I can explain the pheromone to others in a more efficient way.
  2. Censorship in other countries. I wasn’t completely aware of how censored and limited journalism is. I knew the censorship was common in the media, but I wasn’t fully aware of its prevalence in other countries.
  3. The upraise of false news and how to fact-check. I have a high level of media literacy with some healthy skepticism, but it’s clear that others do not. The spread of false/fake news continues to grow, as does our lack of media literacy.

I believe that this Mass Communications class has increased my media literacy. I now have a wider vocabulary to describe the media. If anything, I have more skepticism for the media. But it really has allowed me to really understand freedom of speech and hate speech in general.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

