The Different Kinds of Media

By Patrick Smith

We as a culture live in a media saturated world. Media can entertain and stimulate us, but it can also inform us of what is happening around the world. Like it or not, media has played an essential part in our lives, including mine. Some more than others, though. Printed newspapers, and magazines (that are not comic books) mostly haven’t played much of a role in my life. Sure, they’re constantly present in my household, but unless Entertainment Weekly has a new article about this or that movie that I’m interested in. I do like reading film criticism, though, but I tend to do that online since I’m not really a fan of the film critics in my local newspapers. I do spend far too much time online, though. Whether it’s watching movies on Netflix or Hulu, or writing reviews on Tumbr, my laptop (or ipad) and I are never far apart. I like music a lot, but again, it really doesn’t play that big of a part in my life other than letting me zone out into my own little world when I’m on the bus. I am an avid consumer of television. I’m always waiting for a certain show to return from hiatus, and I have a watchlist of about 50 shows I need to catch up on. But my passion lies in the art of film. I. Love. Movies. Ask any of my friends or coworkers (there isn’t much of a difference between the two) practically everything that comes out of my mouth is an obscure movie quote, a piece of trivia, or my analysis about whatever movie we’re talking about. I love making movies, I love writing about movies, and I’m almost always thinking about movies.

About Cleopatrick

Screenwriting major, and wannabe film critic.